Welcome!

Welcome to this blog!

This is my first post and I want to start a blog where news and comments on Greening and Networking will be the main issues. I believe that we are living in a network society, as Prof. Manuel Castells has called it. This network society takes advantage of ICT and within the NS people can be part of knowledge networks by sharing knowledge with others. Netgreen is a very little tool for networking.

But let’s introduce my self. I’m Oriol Miralbell, I live in Barcelona (Spain) and I’ve been working for years with ITC and had my first personal web back in the late 1990’s. At this time I studied in Syracuse University the Information Resources Management Master degree. Later, my job caught me and I finally shut down my site.

From then on I’ve been more and more involved in ITC projects and research and with networking people, what I like the most. In the Autonomous Government of Catalonia I managed the Tourism Information Systems. Later on I had the chance to become lecturer at the UOC in Barcelona in the Department of Tourism and in the Department of Informatino and Communication Sciences.

Now I’m working on my PhD thesis, trying to find out how knowledge networks are fostering innovation in toruism destinations. I’ll let you know about the progress of my research. By now, I am still putting all the stuff together to get a real picture of this topic.

I hope you’ll enjoy this blog and decide to come back.

Cheers,

Oriol

About Oriol

Professor dels Estudis d'Economia i Empresa de la UOC Lecturer of the Department of Economics and Business Administration Universitat Oberta de Catalunya - Barcelona- Spain
This entry was posted in Greening, Open Thought. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Welcome!

Leave a Reply

